Belief-o-matic

Just for the hell of it, I thought I’d try the Belief-o-matic again. Each time I get something a little different, which doesn’t surprise me. Here are my results:

1.  Theravada Buddhism (100%)
2.  Unitarian Universalism (99%)
3.  Mahayana Buddhism (96%)
4.  Liberal Quakers (84%)
5.  Hinduism (83%)
6.  Taoism (82%)
7.  Jainism (78%)
8.  Neo-Pagan (78%)
9.  Secular Humanism (71%)
10.  New Age (70%)
11.  Sikhism (68%)
12.  Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (66%)
13.  New Thought (61%)
14.  Orthodox Quaker (59%)
15.  Scientology (57%)
16.  Reform Judaism (52%)
17.  Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (50%)
18.  Nontheist (45%)
19.  Baha’i Faith (40%)
20.  Seventh Day Adventist (31%)
21.  Orthodox Judaism (29%)
22.  Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (29%)
23.  Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (24%)
24.  Islam (22%)
25.  Eastern Orthodox (19%)
26.  Roman Catholic (19%)
27.  Jehovah’s Witness (12%)

 

Still not sure how Liberal Quaker and Universal Unitarian creeped into the top 5. While I do share some similar ideas, it seems like the whole “god” thing kinda gets in the way. Weird. And Scientology is #15. I don’t remembering answering any questions about aliens or pyramid schemes…..

Cheers.

6 Comments

Filed under Buddhism

6 responses to “Belief-o-matic

  1. Tom Cruise arranged it so that Scientology always pops up at or above #15.

    Interesting stuff.

  2. nice – Don’t worry, the liberal Quakers and UU folks don’t care much for ‘god’ either – at least not the typical one of the Bible. I once heard a liberal Christian minister even lament that you can talk about any religion/god/great figure to UUs “except Jesus” 🙂

    So, are you thinking of jumping on the happy Hinayana then?

    • Justin, it’s actually something I’m toying with. My current vehicle doesn’t feel right. I’m going to explore a little Zen and a little bit of the Thai Forrest tradition. I’ve been kind of split on the two, and there are real life resources kind of close to me from each of these two traditions.

      Besides “the sutras” could you reccomend some reading?

  3. I can recommend a book( a monk told me about it)
    Mindfulness, Bliss, and Beyond by Ajahn Brahm