"Patriot" Day

Well, personally I think it’s ridiculous that we turned the tragedy that was 9/11 into “Patriot” Day. I find it insulting to use the senseless death of innocent thousands to stir up national pride and patriotism.

 I still don’t know what the hell happened that day. Why did tower 7 fall? Did the Bush administration know more than they told the public? Why are one of the hijackers still well and alive? Who knows. And I’m not sure what good it will do to carry around those attachments anymore. I doubt we’ll ever have satisfying answers to the questions that still linger. The 9/11 commission didn’t do their job, and now we’re stuck with all these doubts and suspicions and conspiracies. I suppose now it’s just time to move on. Do what we can about the situation that fostered that violent act now, here in the present.

 There is one prevailing question that still lingers though: “Why”. Why did these people have to die? The answers that the victim’s friends and families have been provided don’t seem to satisfy. I don’t think any answer will. The crime was too extreme, too senseless for conventional reassurances. The thing we have to embrace now is our ability to move on. Not to forget, but to move on, and move forward. Create a world in which this type of violence will not occur. Not through the use of more violence, of more suffering. Instead we must seek out a skillful approach through dialogue and mutual respect. Maybe it’s a pipe dream, but I doubt much suffering will occur as a result of our trying.

 That’s all I have to say on this. I don’t have a personal story to attach to that morning. I was asleep in my dorm room when the planes hit. My roommate tried to wake me, and I just dismissed his rantings as nothing worth dragging me out of bed about. He finally woke me up and the totality of what happened suddenly hit me square in the face. I didn’t know anyone there, I didn’t anxiously await news from a loved one that they were alright.

 This morning I read a post which I feel is one of the most moving and thought provoking pieces on the 9/11 tragedy that I have ever read. Here is the link. Cheers.

Comments Off on "Patriot" Day

Filed under Other

Comments are closed.